Daily Blog Post, Day 2 (Tuesday, June 23)

So, you wake up and you are back. in. high. school.   You look around and realize you are sitting in your junior year math class.

Okay, okay…calm down.   This is okay.  It’s just math class—.

Okay, okay…calm down again.  Your teacher is explaining a concept in front of the class…and you understand it!  You totally remember learning this.  But, as you watch the teaching explain everything on the board, you realize that the explanation is all wrong!  You know how to do it.  You know how to fix it.  But the teacher has explained it in way that is not only confusing but incorrect.

What do you do and why? Explain what you imagine the experience would be. (Would people laugh? Would the teacher yell?) Is it even worth it to correct the teacher? Why or why not?

Post your Blog Post below in the comments, and please

    use complete sentences,
    use standard grammar,
    use standard vocabulary,
    but be yourself.
    Be Specific
    Be Detailed
    Be Concrete
33 thoughts on “Daily Blog Post, Day 2 (Tuesday, June 23)

  1. When it comes to a situation like this, I would try to have the teacher explain their reasoning. I would ask questions like “How do I check my answer?” and “Are there any special rules or formulas we can follow?” My junior year math teacher actually got corrected a lot in class so this scenario wouldn’t play out any differently. It really helped everyone learn a lot better and we got stuff done in class this way. I think my teacher sometimes did this on purpose to make sure we were all paying attention.

    People would sometimes laugh when this happened and even the did too. It is really worth it to correct the teacher so that everyone doesn’t get wrong information. If they get the wrong information, then they aren’t going to do so well in exams. It wasn’t usually me who corrected the teacher but I’m glad other people did.

    Like

  2. I would correct the teacher by asking if I can try to solve the problem in a different way. I found another way to solve it that is extremely easier way. So, I would do the problem and then ask the teacher to check my answer and make sure it was correct. The teacher would most likely be offended because I was right and he was wrong. It would be worth it because I would help my class mates by making sure they know how to do the problem correctly unlike the teacher.

    Like

  3. If I was back in my junior year math class, I would’ve embarrass my teacher and correct him because he claims to be a genius when it comes to math, he believes he can solve any problem in his sleep, so I would go ahead and make him feel dumb by explaining what he did wrong.

    Like

  4. I would never correct a teacher in public. But that does not mean that after class I would not ask her to explain. I would pretend I didn’t know and hopefully when we sat down to go through it she would she her mess up.

    I was taught never to talk back to an adult. And even though if this happened to me I would probably be older than the teacher, it still should not be done in public to avoid any sticky situation.

    Like

  5. Im not the teacher, but if they were explaining something that was incorrect, especially if I learned it about last year, I would just raise my hand. Not to be rude but that would be the best thing to do. When everyone is learning together that would be the best.

    Like

  6. If I am one hundred percent positive that I know the material and that the teacher is incorrect, I will raise my hand and say ” Excuse me sir but I think that formula is incorrect”. This will be a horrible situation to be in because who wants to correct their teacher and it will make me question the teachers credentials. The teacher should not get mad because we all make mistakes and yes the teacher should be corrected to prevent others from learning incorrect information.

    Like

  7. If I knew my teacher was explaining something wrong I don’t think i’d call them out on it in front of anyone. Because it would make me look like a jerk and the last thing you want is for the teacher to hate you. I would just bring it up at the end of class and talk about it. Its really not worth correcting the teacher in front of everyone its just disrespectful.

    Like

  8. If I were in this situation I probably wouldn’t say anything. I’m naturally a quiet person and don’t like to stand out so I would just keep my mouth shut. I think that if I know what I’m doing then it won’t really matter to much what the teacher teaches the other student. It’s every man for himself in real life, survival of the fittest. However, say we had a test and the teacher grades my answers as incorrect, even thought they are correct, then I would go to him, or her, after class and correct them. So long as it doesn’t impact me I’m happy being apathetic towards the whole situation

    Like

  9. As awesome as it may be to school your teacher in front of the whole class, I wouldn’t want to embarrass them. I would call the teacher over and explain my answer and how they are completely wrong and don’t know what they’re doing. they will call me a liar and do the math themselves to find out they were wrong and don’t know what they’re doing. They will change the answer and explain to the class. As for me I would avoid them the rest of the day in glory and their awkwardness.

    Like

  10. If I were back in my junior year of math class. Oh gosh. I’d probably just stay quiet and let the teacher do it wrong cause in all seriousness, I didn’t understand a thing she would teach. So either way I was lost. Let me say she was really nice like a delicate flower. I just didn’t understand her teaching.

    Like

  11. I don’t believe I would bother with correcting the teacher because if I already know how to do it then that’s fine enough, also some high school teachers are stubborn and rather do there own way .

    Like

  12. I’ve been in situations like this before and its usually because I have learned the subject or problem in past school years. I would first of all politely ask my teacher to give us another example if not done so already. When they do as soon as the teacher would make a mistake I would tell them that they did and just explain it the right way. Of course I wouldn’t speak if I myself didn’t know what I was talking about.

    Like

  13. If I was in this situation, I would not tell the teacher because I am too shy. I would most likely tell my friend that what the teacher is doing is wrong, and I would explain to her what the teacher did wrong. If I did tell the teacher I would not think people would laugh at me but at the teacher. They got along with her so well that they would make fun of her for messing up. It would be worth it to correct her, but I would not.

    Like

  14. I would correct the teacher if I was in their class. I would do it in a respectful way but Id pose it in a question, and not flat out tell the teacher he/she was wrong. That way they can realize their own mistake without making me look arrogant. I can imagine the class getting a laugh out of it, and the teacher poking fun at themselves for making such an obvious mistake. I think anyone that would be in this situation should be the same, that way the class isn’t being taught something that’s completely false. Its almost always better to speak up!

    Like

  15. I would correct the teacher because if I don’t the people in the class might not know that the method is wrong and will continue to use the wrong method. I feel the experience would be awkward at first but then after we figure out the method is wrong the awkwardness would go away. I also do believe that it would be worth correcting the teacher because everyone who did not know the method was incorrect would know the correct method now once it was corrected.

    Like

  16. In this situation I would have raised my hand and waited for the teacher to call on me. Then I would let the teacher know that I think he was incorrect. My teacher would then ask me what part of the explanation I thought was incorrect. If I was correct in my assumption that something was incorrect then my teacher would ask me to come up and correct the part that was incorrect in front of the entire class. If I was incorrect then the teacher would explain why what I had suggested was incorrect and explain why what he had was correct. I would do this because incase I didn’t understand it completely or was confused on something I would understand why I was wrong and learn how to do it the right way. I would also ask so that incase anyone in the rest of the class was somewhat confused as I was but was to scared to ask they would also understand after the clarification. Yes it is important to ask cause I need to understand it for a test or later in another class i wouldn’t have the same problem or difficulty later on.

    Like

  17. I would try and correct my teacher if I knew for certain he was wrong. I would correct him because it needs to be done, if it wasn’t done everyone in the class will know the wrong way to do the problem. I don’t think the teacher would mind it much I had a pretty cool math teacher my junior year.

    Like

  18. If the teacher in class was explaining a concept and I knew for sure it was the wrong explanation and the teacher was wrong, I would speak up and explain the concept the easiest way I knew. I would speak up because I wouldn’t want the students in class getting the wrong explanation and being confused.

    Like

  19. What I do in that moment is talk with my teacher and try to help my teacher and give he some ideas of what can would be he doing to explain correctly , but also in this situation I will be understand that it is okay to be wrong some times.

    Like

  20. I would probably try to correct her. If she started to get mad at me I would ask the class whether or not the way she is explaining it makes sense. If they said no I would proceed to explain it and show the class the right way.

    Like

  21. If i would have went back to my junior year math class of high school and the teacher was wrong i would have shown her my paper on how it is suppose to look like. The teacher would have look at me like i was crazy and probably would have gotten mad. It would have been worth it to correct the teacher because he/she needs to know if they are teaching something wrong to the class and giving us bad education.

    Like

  22. In this situation I would have to correct the teacher just incase his wrong you can show your work and he can too and see who is actually wrong. and maybe both can learn something new a new way to do the work in a different way.

    Like

  23. Correcting a teacher in math problem could be a little challenging for some students but, I would raise my hand and tell her out loud that her explanation is wrong, that I did it in my own paper and it came out right and it makes more sense than how she explained it to the class. I would show other classmates before telling the teacher so they can support me I don’t think they would laugh at all at least not at me.

    Like

  24. My junior year math teacher would allow us to explain our process if we got a different answer in hopes we would find the error in our process. So, I would probably word it like “Hey, what if I got this?” or “Wait, wouldn’t it be easier just do it like this?”, the teacher would let me explain it to the class why this is a better way or the correct answer. Most likely though, the teacher would say it’s an alternative way to solve the problem rather than address it as the only way to solve the problem. I don’t think anyone would laugh, students only laugh when a teacher writes a 8 instead of a 18 or something obvious like that. But with a concrete subject like math, it’s less debatable than say English or History. If you can solve the problem correctly with that method and can explain how it works, then you’re right.

    Like

  25. This has actually has happened to me before in high school and in elementary school as well. I knew the concept because I have taken extra help in tutoring and I released that the teacher was doing something incorrect. I just speak my mind, even if I was wrong I rather be corrected then just think that I am getting the wrong information. I do this constantly sometimes I am right and sometimes I am wrong but as long as I speak up is what matters to help me understand it more.

    Like

  26. I would absolutely have a complain in my chest to provide to the teacher, regarding he’s completely wrong and not following certain theorems. But there will also exist a dilemma that passes and passes through my mind with me hesitating if I should raise my hand or not.
    If people manage to laugh at me, it clearly wouldn’t matter since it’s a student’s free action with no barriers; give an opinion and/or point of view.
    To me, it would be something worth doing, that way I’ll demonstrate that I’ve been paying attention the entire class and receiving an acknowledgement from my teacher.

    Like

  27. If I were to experience such thing, I would not correct the teacher. I can imagine that the situation there will be normal, the teacher will just continue to explain and some of the students will try to tell and correct the teacher anyways. It is not worth the effort to build up the confidence to tell the teacher that he/she is wrong because even if I do know that I know the truth because it will be super awkward for a bad student to call out the mistakes and at the same time it will be surprised for the classmates.

    Like

  28. If I had to go back in time. Wend I was in High School I will imagine that people are nice and I wouldn’t have to deal with the yelling. If you are teaching student to learn you can’t be yelling at the children. And then they aren’t going to do so well on the exams.

    Like

  29. If I were back in my junior year of high school math class, I would definitely correct my teacher. I would call her out on the problem being completely wrong, and then I would go up to the board and show her and the class the correct way of solving the problem. Of course the teacher would get utterly pissed off from me showing her up on intelligence, but it’s definitely worth correcting the teacher because why should someone bullshit a learning experience. After correcting the teacher, I definitely would get yelled at and it wouldn’t surpass me because I know I’m the one in the right and help prevent wrong problem solving which could’ve caused us to fail completely.

    Like

  30. From what I know now to what I learned back in high school, allows me to realize, that not much has changed. In all honesty I have not the slightest bit of courage to question my teacher or their ethic. I am not as brave as I would like to be. If I were to go back I would just be another mouse, in a crowd of lions, wishing I could roar instead of squeak. The experience would be quiet much like my voice. The hours would tick by and eventually the bell would ring, as I walk out defeated, basking in my world of silence

    Like

  31. In a situation like this I would not tell the teacher if he/she is wrong but I will surely tell the principal that the teacher is teaching things that doesn’t exist. If the principal tells me to proof it I will proof that the teacher is wrong because I already know the answers and the correct forms to do the math course. It’s obvious that I already know the answers because come on…I’m Carlos and I already went through this. The teacher would probably get fired and the students should feel relieved that they are not going to fail in life after that.

    Like

  32. Wow junior high math hmm. I would have understood that math. I would definitely let my teacher know. He was an amazing teacher that would sometimes do things to see if we were actually learning. He would have been more than welcoming to the idea of me or anyone else correcting him to get to the real answers.

    We would have probably taken teams. Then the correct team would have won. Learning and most of all learning correctly, would’ve been fantastic for my teacher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

