Mini Book Club: “The House on Mango Street”

“The House on Mango Street” by Sandra Cisneros

This is a very well known short story that some of you may have read.

After having read it, discuss the following in your small groups.

  1. What is the last line of the story (“But I know  how those things go.”) supposed to mean?
  2. Have you ever had an experience like the one described in the story?
  3. Did reading the story make you think about anything in your own life differently?
7 thoughts on “Mini Book Club: “The House on Mango Street”

  1. 1. The last line ” But I know how those things go” means it doesn’t always go the way that it’s suppose to. Sometimes it is successful and sometimes it takes a different toll. Not everything is going to go the way it was planned.
    2. The hardest part was talking to new people, adapting to new things, etc.
    3. Now, we have a more easier life. There are people out there that are less unfortunate than us and it is better to be content with what you have.

    Like

  2. 1) We think that the last line of the story means that things happen for a reason and that we should let things happen or that the parents will get a new house.
    2)No we haven’t experienced something like this in our lives.
    3) What this story has changed in our thought of our lives is the way we value what we have.

    Like

  3. This is a very well known short story that some of you may have read.

    After having read it, discuss the following in your small groups.

    1.What is the last line of the story (“But I know how those things go.”) supposed to mean? She feel that she is disappointed. And it is normal to move.

    2.Have you ever had an experience like the one described in the story? No

    3.Did reading the story make you think about anything in your own life differently? Where you come from shapes you into the person you are.

    Like

  4. The quote “But I know how those things go” means that people always say they are going to do something for temporary but at the end they keep doing it or stay in the same predicament forever. When I was a younger all through my life me and my family had to move because of the situation of the building, house, or neighborhood. No i don’t think differently about my life in the story because i reacted just like the narrator.

    Like

  5. It’s supposed to mean like that the kids’ expectation from the parents that they have no money so they struggle to give their kids what they promise to them. The kids think too much from their parents so they pretty much know what to expect. Everyone dreams big, but most times reality just kicks in and you can’t always get that.

    As a group, we have not experienced this just like described in the story.

    Yes, this story did make us think about everything in our own lives, especially that there are people out there that have it harder than others and we need to be appreciative for the life we have to live for. Also, we shouldn’t take certain things for granted be cause there’s people that have things handed to them and other people have to work for it.

    Like

  6. 1)my group think that always you need to do a change in you life, and sometimes the change that you do not always is what you want.
    2)yes my group have the same experience.
    3) we think that everybody have to do a change different for you life.

    Like

  7. I didn’t always have her as a mom. Before I had my current mother, I had another. Should I just say I have two mothers? It’s a difficult thing to explain. Especially considering that I want to respect both. But you know, it’s not that easy.

    Here’s the story. My mother, the real one, was not what would be considered a “fit” mother. She was gone most of my life. Not even counting the time that has passed since she really has been gone. When I was born, she was in prison. I did not get to have that attachment to her. I was passed to another woman who is still not the woman I will refer to as my mother. I went to someone else after that. And, well, her, that is my mother.

    Everyone is supposed to eventually be released from prison right? My mom got out. You know the one that gave birth to me? But still, troubles occurred. I was a toddler and lived the life of a grown up. I cooked for myself. Nothing major. Food that could be heated in a microwave. If I didn’t do that, I wouldn’t eat. That’s what happens when both your parents are on drugs. I was their cover up. Nobody suspects two adults with a baby girl to be bad people.

    What about the other mom? She was still in the picture. Not as much because my other mom still wanted to be a mom. I spent weekdays with my real mom. Weekends with the mom that I knew. The turnaround, was March 6,2004. My birth mother dropped me off. It was a weekend. A routine. But it became permanent. My mother, the real one, passed away. March 7,2004.

    Breaking the news to a 5 year old who hated going back to where her real home was supposed to be unbelievable. I wasn’t sad. I finally got what I wanted. What I deserve. A family.

    Now, yes, I feel bad. I wish I knew my real mother more. I still have these fantasies about how my life would’ve been. A part of me is gone. I can’t ever get those questions answered. But, my life now is well, what most would say a good life.

    I have a great mother who wakes me up to breakfast every morning. Who takes me to school, helps me with homework and just is someone who will never put me in danger. I have a father. Who works very very hard. Who is never late on a bill and is the most reliable and consistent man that I have come across. I have brothers and a sister. All older than me. They are people who look out for me in every way that they can. I have a house. One that’s paid for. One that has 3 bathrooms just like the girl in The House on Mango Street wanted.

    Don’t think my life is perfect now. I still have what I don’t really have. I still have a real family who I don’t know much about. Maybe, when I get closer to them, I will be closer to myself. Because, they are a part of me. My DNA is found somewhere else. However, one thing that I have learned is that you don’t have to be blood to be a family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

