Rhapsody in Blue FreeWrite

Below is a video of an orchestra performing a famous composition by George Gershwin.  The song is called “Rhapsody in Blue,” and it’s been featured in many advertisements and movies.

As you listen and/or watch the performance, write whatever comes into your head below.  How does this music make you feel?  What does it make you think about?  Why is the rhapsody “in blue?”

You can write about anything, as long as you try to be as detailed as possible and as long as you keep writing.  Do your best to write in complete sentences, make interesting word choices, and use standard grammar.

14 thoughts on “Rhapsody in Blue FreeWrite

  1. Slightly intense, but at the same time relaxing. there’s a slight feel of suspense and scurry in the melody of the orchestra. It makes me think about an old cartoon with the characters on an adventure. Just like in Tom & Jerry, or the movie; “Who framed Roger Rabbit”.

    Like

  2. This music make me feel like I need a nap. I have gone to the symphony live and I loved it. But watching it on the screen and live are two totally different things. My mind wonders just listening to it. Like what the heck am I listening to. Looking at the screen, some of the musicians look like they are in pain. I am getting sleepy. This is not my cup of tea unless I can be there. Kind of like a ballgame. It is so much better to be at the game and feel the rush and excitement .

    Like

  3. This song makes me feel as if I am on an adventure. It’s upbeat. As if you are excited about something. But it also slows down. As if you are taking a time to relax and enjoy yourself. I don’t get the title of the piece. The title does not always have to go with what it is supposed to be attached to.

    Like

  4. the beginning made me feel calm and just made me relax , I am not a fan of orchestras so to me I don’t feel much about it the rest of the sound differs from the beginning and I dislike it

    Like

  5. It has its slow boring parts then there are some parts where it picks up quick I prefer the quicker parts. The quicker it gets it feels more intense. The pianist was very into it he was the most involved. And this music makes me think of a bank commercial I cant remember which one but im sure it was in a bank commercial.

    Like

  6. Just by listening to this type of music it makes me feel happy because it is so upbeat and cheerful. This type of music reminds me of the show Tom and Jerry where they were both chasing one another around the house. Sometimes the title matches with the work or music but most of the time it doesn’t

    Like

  7. This makes me think about an adventure that goes up and down and it some how makes me think of the Looney toons and their adventures and just having fun .

    Like

  8. The air is hot, the window is covered in condensation, I wipe my hand, across the trolley window. The year is 1922, and the city is filled with Buzz, as the people, from all shapes and sizes, and colors roam about the streets. People in their cars with fancy gold, gold, gold GOLD!
    Yes this is the time of Gold, the golden age.
    “Aye-ya Avery ya gotta check a dis out man!” Says David.
    I look out as the Apollo theater is covered in bright golden lights.
    Everything seems so new, so spontaneaous.
    Even though the air is hot, it smells of rotten apples. This is the era of the golden, rotten apple. An age where a speakeasy is more of a friend to a man than his own dog. Capone rules the place, and Girls…. GIRLS….
    Dressed just like my sister Rachel.
    Flappers, dancing all over the place, taking a smoke, making the air even hotter.
    No not the girls Wilson, Woodrow, Wilson.
    We sympathize with Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Stein is the girl you want to hang with.
    We sympathize with the Gatz. Oh the Gatzby he’s the fella you wanna be, gotta be. In a city as big and golden and bright as this one. Big money, big cars, big dreams, big, all BIG, and ALL GOLD.
    The GOD that rules us is the one in our flasks in our hearts, in our glasses, in our assets. Golden age of lies, bootlegging, the grind. A tough time to be a boy, or a girl for that matter. Working towards a dream that will never be yours, yet you try and you try. You’re trying to climb to the top but they push you down. It’s always that glass ceiling. Almost like in those fancy buildings that you see.
    “Gotta get off right here!” yells David as he yanks our arms out into the rush of the city.
    I can feel it, god speed, the people the cars, the sweat, the blood the work. The hot summer, city air, with a rising golden sun. In a golden age.
    We enter a shack, as Dave and I clock in, Rachel runs into the dressing room, and gets dolled up with the other show girls.
    I put on my apron as a flock of clean shaven dead beats squirms up to me as if I had the power. The power of the golden apple, of the golden era. The power of the golden drink. That men crave, more than the modern woman. In a modern age where everything is gold, in a hot golden afternoon. The lights dim and out come the girls, Dave holds out his hand to collect the green gold, Rachel’s out there dancing in the golden spotlight. I pour out the gold as men, drink down the waste of life that can never be their’s.
    Just like the dreams, just like the age.
    Gold, Gold, Gold.
    It’s all fake, and yet, as the crowd gets rowdy yet again. I know. I know that it’s all fake. But I go along with it, I go along to live, forever young, just like Gatsby, like Dave, like Rachel, like the people in the streets, like Woodrow. Like everybody.
    I Avery Wentz, live in an age of rotten gold.
    The year is 1922, the air is hot, just like the golden sun.
    A greedy time to be an American.

    Like

  9. Hearing the Rhapsody Blue it made me like I wanted to express more of my feelings to the world and it made me feel joyful and sad. I think to this when the days are like in the rain times. I don’t usually hear blues like this and by hearing this, it touched my heart to it. This music basically expresses peoples feelings to show it out for people to hear and express them.

    Like

  10. it makes me think how about 101 Dalmatians and what happens in the movie in every sense that happen in the movie when the dogs got stolen and when they had to try to run away from the bad people and had to find there way home back to there people

    Like

  11. This music made me feel like I was at a fancy ball filled with senior citizens. I went a senior citizen place and they play lots of music like this. They even dance to it.

    Like

  12. what the music makes me feel is something difficult to explain, I feel happy and peaceful.
    when I hear the music , the music change my mind and make me great.
    is difficult to explain what I feel , the music relaxing me.

    Like

  13. when listening to music, the makes me feel happy, peaceful , relaxing me, the music can change my day if I’m sad or stressed and when I hear the music is something that relaxes

    Like

Leave a Reply

